IAPA judges announced

By Euan Youdale26 November 2013

The judges for the International Awards for Powered Access (IAPA) 2014 have been announced.

The IAPA awards ceremony and dinner take place on the same day as the IPAF Summit conference, 3 April 2014, at the historic Beaumont Estate Hotel in Windsor, near London, UK, (just 15 minutes from Heathrow Airport).

They follow the remarkable success of the 2013 IPAF Summit and IAPAs in Miami - the first time they were held in the USA.

Jointly organised by KHL’s Access International, Access Lift & Handlers and the International Powered Access Federation (IPAF), the IAPAs celebrate best practice and excellence in the powered access industry, attracting audiences of around 450 each year.

The awards are open for entries until 20 December 2013, so you still have plenty of time to be a part of this great occasion. Find all the categories and entry forms at the event website www.iapa-summit.info

The judges for the IAPAs 2014 are:

Andries Schouten is managing director of HDW Nederland and Gunco, two sales and rental businesses within TVH Rental Equipment - the rental business of Belgian parts specialist TVH, which also now includes Mateco in Germany.

Craig Paylor is president/owner of US-based National Truck Body (NTB) Solutions. He served as president of JLG and executive vice-president of parent company Oshkosh Corporation from 2007 to 2010. Mr Paylor joined JLG in 1978 as a district sales manager and held a variety of positions.

George Landsbergis managing director of South African access equipment distribution company Goscor Hi-Reach. As joint shareholder of logistics and equipment group Imperial Holdings, he has also recently started up a new rental venture. Mr Landsberg has been involved with the aerial work platform sector in the country since 1997.

Gerhard Hillebrand has been IPAF’s representative in Italy since 2004. He has held various management positions within the industry. Before joining IPAF he was majority partner and managing director of an Italian truck-mounted, firefighting platform and mobile cranes export company.

Steve Couling is managing director of vehicle-mounted platform specialist TIME-Versalift, UK & Ireland - part of the Dublin, Ireland-based O’Flaherty Holdings Group. He has also been president of the International Powered Access Federation (IPAF) since March 2013.

Euan Youdale, Editor of Access International magazine is chairman of the judging panel, but will not play a part in the decision-making process. He said, “I would like to thank all the judges for agreeing to take part. Their extensive industry knowledge and experience will be of great value to the judging process and help make the 2014 IAPA awards a huge success.”

The awards are open for entries until 20 December 2013. This year there have been a few changes to the award categories, following wide consultation with the industry. The award entry forms have also been updated to make them easier to fill in.

Take a look at the list of categories and decide which ones best suit you or your company by visiting the event website www.iapa-summit.info

The awards are open to all companies and individuals in the powered access industry. Award entry deadline is 20 December 2013.

The judges are looking for good business practice, innovation and forward thinking, as well as quality, and client satisfaction. The judges want all entrants to tell them why they believe their company, project or product is special and why it deserves to win.

“The IAPAs are hotly contested and this year, the organisers have raised the bar by tightening the judging criteria and streamlining some award categories,” said IPAF CEO Tim Whiteman. “We encourage manufacturers, rental companies, contractors and equipment users from all over the world – anyone who believes they should win an award – to submit an entry.”

Companies and individuals can enter themselves or nominate others. They can submit entries for more than one award, and more than one entry per category, should they wish. There is no charge for entering. Awards are for activities undertaken and for products launched in 2013. The deadline for entries is 20 December 2013.

“We have worked hard to make the awards even more relevant to the industry and re-written the entry forms to make them easier to complete," said Euan Youdale, Editor of Access International.

"If you or your company has achieved something outstanding this year, then I urge you to help make the IAPAs a great success by entering one or more of the award categories. I look forward to seeing your submissions.”

Questions on the awards can be directed to Euan Youdale on +44 (0)1892 786214 or euan.youdale@khl.com

The independent judging panel comprises industry experts with long-standing experience in the business and will be announced shortly. Judges are excluded from entering their company for any awards. Entries must be submitted in English using the official entry form.

See the event website www.iapa-summit.info

Delivered directly to your inbox, Access International Newsletter features the pick of the breaking news stories, product launches, show reports and more from KHL's world-class editorial team.
Peri launches digital concrete monitoring kit
Temperature Monitoring and Concrete Maturity Kit takes temperature readings from different points in concrete
‘Bad’ data costing construction US$1.8 trillion
New study reveals cost to construction of inaccurate and untimely information
Webinar on cybersecurity in rental and construction, 4 November
IRN free webinar will have senior speakers from Loxam, Ritchie Bros and Palfinger
Euan Youdale Editor, Access International Tel: +44 (0)1892 786 214 E-mail: euan.youdale@khl.com
Ollie Hodges Sales Manager Tel: +44 (0)1892 786253 E-mail: ollie.hodges@khl.com